Dog Walking

This summer is turning out to be quite exciting; I just moved to Raleigh, North Carolina to work at NC State with Ben Chapman on Food Safety through social media. This city (or trifecta of cities, as it encompasses Durham, Cary and Chapel-Hill, too) is very reminiscent of a smaller (and up-coming) version of the Bay Area. It’s a nice taste of home.

I’m working on a few different projects – along with being involved in a new startup (www.kitchology.com) – with Ben and his graduate student also named Ben! At least in my head, conversations tend to be pretty funny; I can’t stop thinking about back in the old days of Marching Band at Davis and how all the mellophones were given double-name nicknames. (ie: Susanna – SuSu, Benjamin – BenBen, etc.) In my head, definitely, I think of Ben’s grad student, Ben, as BenBen. 😛 Shh, but don’t tell him I said that.

I’m actually subleasing BenBen’s room, and using his office desk at work, etc. This house is huge (and it’s right near downtown); but everyone says it’s in the “ghetto” area which having been in that situation, I really don’t think so.

Starting to think about all these different projects is definitely an experience. On one hand, I’m glad that I’m not working in the lab for the summer – since my research is currently a bit frustrating. On the other hand, there’s the fear that I won’t meet expectations with all these projects I’m doing now. Here’s to keeping a sober summer, though.

Haha, onto more “cute” adventures though. BenBen has a cat named Sherman. Since BenBen isn’t here, though, the cat isn’t either. One of his roomates, C, has a dog named Kirra. C’s gf has two dogs: one cute puppy, and one belligerant Yorkie. Additionally, BenBen’s third roommate has another dog named Belle. She will soon be acquiring a kitten! 🙂 I definitely love having animals around 😀 This is superb!

What can possibly make this more superb? SUBWOOFERS EVERYWHERE! Literally, every room in this house (including mine) has a big bass sub. The basement, as it were, has FIVE! This house definitely packs a punch in music. Considering it’s also isolated with its own hardwood floors, the sound carriage is fantastic.

C is out of town for a few days at the beach. In the meantime, I am allowed to care for Kirra. So today, we went for a walk! Not going to lie, it was definitely a very enjoyable walk! I hope to ask C if I can walk Kirra for the rest of the summer, too. Definitely allowed me time to cool off from the work day, while providing me time to think and mull things over. There’s something refreshing about choosing a direction and going.

ImageImage

But then, we got home and kaboom! To sleep she goes. Perhaps 1.3 miles over 30 minutes was too long of a walk? I will bring water next time, though, for sure.

This weather is interesting. One minute it is sunny and bright, the next it is thunderstorming like crazy with Flash Flood warnings everywhere. I’d ridden my bike a mile to the UPS store and it was fantastic! However, the moment I walked out of the UPS store, a sudden downpour of flooding madness came upon us! It wouldn’t let up! What is one to do?!

Image

Get a BIG RED PONCHO and hopefully not get swept away! What Madness! But LOVING the humidity and warmth. While others may feel that it is too sticky or miserable, this Californian is enjoying the smothering tropical heat!

About floatingsheep
Recently moved to Blacksburg, Virginia (Virginia Tech) for graduate school from good ol' sunny California. Wanting to share my (mis)adventures around the East Coast and in general. :D

Leave a Reply

