Got Your Back, Always

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us HELP.

This prompt touches on a lot of chords. As a society, we either learn or are taught that those around us are there “for us” or we either learn or are taught that we are alone. There are those that stand as everyone’s support; then, there are those who always require support. What I’ve observed in my twenty-something derpy years is that there is very little “in-between”.

Those who stand to support others are often seen as the benefactors, both emotionally and physically; while those who seek others are often seen as the beneficiaries with little else to contribute. There is a lot of giving, in one direction, and a lot of taking, in the other direction. As aforementioned, this also ties into illness (of any variety: physical or emotional).

Oftentimes, it’s easier to soldier on alone until the very last moment.

“Why would you do that?” You’d ask.

It’s a simple answer really: it’s easier to give than to get. Additionally, asking for others to “take care of [me]” is, in my mind, seen as a burden to the other party; they’ve got better things to do, other things to see. I am also oftentimes overcome with guilt when I do have to ask others for help. There is a guilt – and perhaps personal shame – that I am not the one caring about or thinking about the other party (and their plight) because I am unwell. Even those few moments cause me quite distress and sometimes actually heightens my state of “unwell-ness”. Isn’t that ironic?

However, I do not (and will not) hesitate to help others when they are feeling under the weather. It is, after all, my personal belief, duty and perhaps naiive dedication to that segment of society and those around me. It’s not to say that I feel as if my life is worth less; only that, my nature is geared towards others. I’ll always have your back.

How do you deal? Are you alone or do you seek help?

About floatingsheep
Recently moved to Blacksburg, Virginia (Virginia Tech) for graduate school from good ol' sunny California. Wanting to share my (mis)adventures around the East Coast and in general. :D

9 Responses to Got Your Back, Always

  1. It’s funny how you so perfectly put into words what i was trying to say, but couldn’t say right. i loved the way you expressed that feeling and this point of view so well.

    • Glad to hear that there are other people out there who understand this feeling; people tend to cock their head to one side and go “huh?” (especially towards the latter part).

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Take Care | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Take Care | On My Front Porch

  4. Pingback: What Do Pigs Know That Humans Don’t? | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Take Care, Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  6. KakieF says:

    This is a great post that validates “When we give, we get.” So glad I stopped by today.

Leave a Reply

