These Words for YOU

Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out

Write a letter to the personality trait you like least, convincing it to shape up or ship out. Be as threatening, theatrical, or thoroughly charming as is necessary to get the job done.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us UGLY.

 

Hello dearest self-doubt-inner-critic-you who I know you are definitely in cahoots with inner-laziness-and-lack-of-motivation-you! Every time I see you both, every time I hear you both, every time I think you both, I want to turn on my heels and bolt; but I don’t, I keep trying to fight you, but together one or the other of you still beats me down. What the heck kind of world is that? Aren’t you the one that’s supposed to submit to my will – or at least work with me here and help me figure out how to lessen your control.

Every time I even so much as dare think of a peep, you’re tenacious manipulation forces me to think of a million other ways that what I thought may be wrong, doubtful, hurtful, uncouth. Every time I even attempt to start working, that creepy doubt and fear of failure breeds ungodly proportions of non-motivation. What a joke!

I’ve been trying to work on changing me; but can’t you just play nice with me. I know you and I have the same goals. I know you and I are on the same team. I know you’re just watching out for me so that I don’t get hurt, but this attempting to prevent me from not-getting-hurt business is leading to me being hurt and failing even more! I’m hurting myself and I’m hurting others. So c’mon, let’s team up; cheer things up. Let’s get moving. Life is going to be constantly moving ando we can’t stagnate. We have a whole fucking world to conquer!

Now…let’s start with this one project. No doubts. No distractions. Promise?

About floatingsheep
Recently moved to Blacksburg, Virginia (Virginia Tech) for graduate school from good ol' sunny California. Wanting to share my (mis)adventures around the East Coast and in general. :D

7 Responses to These Words for YOU

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | writinglikeastoner

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dear John Letter | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: A Letter To My Inner Critic | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived

  4. misselletea says:

    Love this post! I hope you’re listening to yourself 🙂

  5. Pingback: A jail without windows | Vivir, que no es poco

  6. Pingback: A Letter To An Indecisive Employee | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: WITHOUT YOUR LOVE | hastywords

Leave a Reply

