Rocketdogs Were Made for Raging

Today’s Daily Prompt prompted us to talk about our favorite pair of shoes, and where they’ve taken us. For me, it was love at first sightThe moment I saw them on the shelf at Payless Shoes (so many years ago), my heartstrings were pulled to their inexplicable color and beautiful neon-pink threading all around. In their prime, they were black/pink “IceCream” Rocketdogs with multi-neon-colored stripes across the sides: perfect for raging.  C’mon, I’m a sucker for pink & black. They were with me in multiple labs – having chemicals and bad microorganisms spilt over them. They brought me through three years of my undergraduate career at UC Davis and a year after graduating in the working world. They’ve travelled to Taiwan, around the country, up and down the states, and onto cruise ships. They’ve splattered through water, become water-logged to the point of “melting”, and almost nearly ripped apart at the seems when stepping into grime. They’ve come with me in and out of hospitals, through blood in the Emergency Room, and up and down random excursions. Indeed, they were my favorite pair of rave shoes; and they matched perfectly with my multi-colored-neon-candy studded belt. Even after I’d frustratedly ripped out the insoles, they still bore my extreme activity with quiet diligence and acceptance. Unfortunately, I have since tossed away my favorite pair of shoes about 3 years ago; however, they will always hold a special place in my heart (and now in the interwebs for all to see and gawk at).

Right before I tossed them out. A forever momento.

Right before I tossed them out; the beautiful colors are no longer on them. A forever momento.

About floatingsheep
Recently moved to Blacksburg, Virginia (Virginia Tech) for graduate school from good ol' sunny California. Wanting to share my (mis)adventures around the East Coast and in general. :D

6 Responses to Rocketdogs Were Made for Raging

  1. I too am a fan of black and pink. There is something magical in that color combination. Great post!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: These Shoes Were Made for Walking | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: These Shoes Were Made for Walking | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: These Boots Were Made for Walking | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Do I really have a favorite pair of shoes? | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Anna Korn says:

    How didi you disinfect them after spilling microbes on them? Or didi you just walk those microes around the globe?

Leave a Reply

