Give Me Your Name

ID-100191397

Photo Credit: dan from http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

LILY
This word – nay, the name – rolls off the tongue in such a casual way. Split into two syllables, it is at once soft in tone while harsh in the “soft-ness” of it’s consonance. More often than not, documents will return as: “Lilly”, “Lili”, “Lilli”, “Lillian”, etc. instead of “Lily”.
Is it that hard to spell 4 easy letters? L-I-L-Y.

My mom says she chose my name because she loves Lily flowers… specifically, lily-of-the-valley and tiger-lily. She truly loved lily flowers; growing up, we had lilies everywhere! As such, the lily symbolizes innocence, beauty, and purity. While my mom may have hoped I would grow to embody all of these terms, I unfortunately (and to her utter dismay) did not. Evidently lacking in grace, innocence, and soft-spoken manner, I apparently have yet to discover the “heart and soul” of my dear name.

And yet, my name written in Chinese isn’t for the characters for the flower: 莉莉. Instead, my Chinese name is written 立立.
立 = to stand straight
Before I began Chinese school, my mother told me she chose the dichotomy of my English vs Chinese name to be a pun / play on words. At the same time, she does not correct anyone who writes my name as 莉莉 instead of 立立. However, she hoped upon hope, that by naming me 立立, I’d be a much more upstanding citizen (and mostly so I’d stop slouching so much). [sidenote: As I’d find out later in our tumultuous middle school years, my cousins had thought that I was incredibly weird and horrid for slouching all the time. LOL.] As again with my American name, I have yet to live up to her expectations.

But, a name is a name. I am delighted with it as it makes for meeting another individual with my name (and spelled the way I spell it) always a great and exciting activity!

Response to “Daily Prompt: Name That…You!” Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

About floatingsheep
Recently moved to Blacksburg, Virginia (Virginia Tech) for graduate school from good ol' sunny California. Wanting to share my (mis)adventures around the East Coast and in general. :D

5 Responses to Give Me Your Name

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: The Naming Game | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  4. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

